Student Advocacy

So yesterday, a small group of students were playing “Are You Smarter than a Librarian?” with me in the library before school in honor of National Library Week. One student (who rarely comes to the library) was also in the lab working on a project. Before we started the game I was sharing the history behind National Library Week and what it takes to become a librarian. The student who rarely comes to the library was halfway listening as he worked.

This boy stopped me mid sentence with this quote: “Wait a minute…wait a minute. You are telling me a librarian has to have a Master’s degree? Why? All they do is shelf…” but the poor kid didn’t even get to finish. Because you see in that group of students I had kids who I’d taught one on one lessons, students in both of the two clubs I sponsor, one student I mentor, students who participate in library events before school, a reluctant reader who can’t chose her own books, and students I’d just finished doing research with in class. I couldn’t hear all their responses, but let’s just say he left knowing that I do more than shelf books…and I didn’t even have to say a word.

It was humbling to know that my target audience really does get with I do on a day-to-day basis (for the most part).  I did help the student involved save a little face by agreeing that yes, I still do shelf books, but that is certainly not ALL I do.

Leave a Reply

