5 Things I Want to Be Better at Next School Year

5 Things I Want to Be Better at Next School Year

 

Number 1: Self-Reflection

Life is short and time is shorter. I need to be better about reflecting and being honest about what works and what doesn’t. If it doesn’t work don’t dwell…just fix it and try again. This also involves the students. No more learn and purge, I want to see them apply what they have learned at a higher level.

Number 2: Not Throwing out the Baby with the Bathwater

New doesn’t always mean better. I was brainstorming a list of cool things I’ve let fall aside; like foldables and webquests. Just because they are older doesn’t mean they have lost any value. Along with this, it also means that a failed lesson doesn’t always mean the platform is bad; maybe I just didn’t approach it correctly or have the right audience. Everyone (even a website) deserves another chance.

Number 3: Consistency

Next school year I’d like to blog consistently, create digital book talks, and upload podcasts. This year I had a lot finished but due to hosting issues they never got posted. That is a real goal for next year. For students I want to see them making more of their own Web 2.0 stuff. Our district has opened up the policy some on setting up student accounts, so I’m going to run full force and hope for the best.

Number 4: Book Talk More

This week I got to talk books for a WHOLE period with multiple classes. When does that happen? It was like crack for my brain. The students were laughing at me…but you know what? It works. Every book we discuss always gets checked out. Next year I’m going to sneak in one book talk every time kids come to the library. I might have to be quick, but I absolutely love seeing light bulbs click and this is a part of my job that is important. Sometimes I worry about the library being seen as “only about books” that I forget I am still about books.

Number 5: Balance

I tend to focus all my energy where I’m the most successful….and right now that is my professional career. When I’m not working I find myself thinking about what I’d like to do better or how I can next impact my students. While that is fine it is only a small part of who I am in the grander scheme. I am also a writer, friend, daughter, sister, cousin, singer, Bible Club director, assistant treasurer, etc. Married people may not understand this, but sometimes the longing that comes with being single creates an isolation that is tough to break through. Now, I know being single isn’t all I am, but it is a part of who I am. I’m a complex being with a lot of roles. The point is that I do a bunch of things, but do I really cherish these other roles? I don’t know, but I plan on being more present and finding out.

Leave a Reply

