Book Review: Odette’s Secrets by Maryann Macdonald

odettesBook Review:  Odette’s Secrets by Maryann Macdonald

This novel in verse is based on the life of Odette Meyer. When her father goes to a work camp and her mother joins the resistance, Odette is shipped to the country for safety.

The poetry in this book varies and as a writer of poetry I can relate. Sometimes it is hard to be true to poetic forms and tell the story you need to tell. There are poems that are heart-stoppingly beautiful and some that I found myself skimming. The beauty of poetry is that not everyone will agree with the poems I liked, so that is where the real magic lies.

Part of a poem I loved:

Poetry is stronger than the Nazis,
stronger than the war.
These words are so beautiful
they make me want to speak again.
The next day I don’t go to the forest.
I spend it reading poetry at home.
Sometimes I read aloud.
Day by day, I dare to say more.

Recommended Ages: 5-8
Genre: Historical Fiction and Novels in Verse
Overall Opinion:  Average
Source: Book

Leave a Reply

