Book Review: School Library Makerspaces by Leslie B. Preddy

School Library MakerspacesBook Review:  School Library Makerspacesby Leslie B. Preddy

I should warn you makerspaces are my new passion. Not an expert (more like a librarian stumbling around in the dark) but I got a grant, and my equipment is starting to arrive. Next year I’ll look at adding more. I started out small, but wishing now I’d gone ahead and asked for a 3D printer too.

This book is full of ideas for makerspace activities. The ideas have a secondary focus, but some of them could be easily adapted to a younger level. It broadly covers the concept of a makerspace and has a wealth of links and resources. I started using some of them immediately. These activities are great ways to get students involved and interested in what the library has to offer in the makerspace area. There is a big focus on re-purposing materials for fun projects, and I love that idea. Next year, I’m even going to do some makerspace challenges with parent/student teams.

If you have no idea what a makerspace is, than I wouldn’t start with this book. This book is more focused on ideas you can actually use in your makerspace. Here is the video I made for our students when introducing the concept of a makerspace: http://animoto.com/play/MZsswV1VX7fQhSlMqO3inw

Having just started a makerspace area in my library, I’ve added a link to our collaborative wiki on makerspaces. If you want more information, this is a good place to start. FYI if you have a library or a makerspace, feel free to join the wiki and share your ideas.

http://librarycampground.wikispaces.com/Makerspace+Resources

Nothing really to quote, but the back of the book has an invaluable list of websites for makerspace ideas and resources. Too many to look at all at once, so I put them into my Protopage and am slowly catching up.

Recommended Ages:  Adult/Teacher
Genre:  Professional Resource
Overall Opinion:  Highly Recommended
Source: Book

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

