Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

AllegiantThis book is the final book (if you don’t count the novellas) in the Divergent series. After the events in book two, Tris and her friends have to decide where they fit. Their journeys take them outside the city walls into a mystery even more complex.

There has been much debate with my students on this book. We are reading Divergent as a school wide read, and the reviews on the last book are very mixed. I thought it was the PERFECT ending. If I had been awesome enough to write this book, it is exactly how I would have ended the book. Most of my students agree, but most of the adults do not. It’s been interesting. If you read the first two books, you must read this one to find out what happens. I would highly suggest reading it before going to see the movie, because there is always one joker who tries to spoil it for everyone (like the guy yelling how Harry Potter ended as we were waiting in line to get the book-boo).

Quotes I loved-

….not going to tell you what boy this what about because that would spoil it!

“I fell in love with him. But I don’t just stay with him by default as if there’s no one else available to me. I stay with him because I choose to, every day that I wake up, every day that we fight or lie to each other or disappoint each other. I choose him over and over again, and he chooses me.”

And also this quote on bravery:

There are so many ways to be brave in this world. Sometimes bravery involves laying down your life for something bigger than   yourself, or for someone else. Sometimes it involves giving up everything you have ever known, or everyone you have ever loved, for the sake of something greater.

But sometimes it doesn’t.

Sometimes it is nothing more than gritting your teeth through pain, and the work of every day, the slow walk toward a better life.

That is the sort of bravery I must have now.

Recommended Grades: 8-Adult
Genre: Dystopian
Overall Opinion: Highly Recommended
Source: ebook

Leave a Reply

