Book Review: The Mark of the Dragonfly by Jaleigh Johnson

Book The Mark of the DragonflyReview: The Mark of the Dragonfly by Jaleigh Johnson

Piper is great with machines. She has a natural way at fixing things that no one else can. That comes in handy when you live in a small down and have to scavenge for parts; or really scavenge for anything at all. When a storm brings young Anna into Piper’s life, she knows she must leave all that she’s ever known to save this girl she barely knows.

I really loved this book. It had a steampunk feel without getting bogged down in the whole Victorian theme. The characters were believable and while not always likeable, they were always relatable. Who doesn’t have their rough edges? I didn’t find the major plot twist a surprise, but most of my students have. Book wraps up nicely, but leaves room for a second book.

Quote (kind of a spoiler, so you might wait until reading the book)
“You mean that I can’t live without you-that I’ll stop working?” Anna sniffed and wiped her eyes, “I didn’t need Doloman to tell me that. You’re my sister. I don’t want to leave you, Piper, not ever.”

Recommended Ages: Grades 7 and up
Genre: Tough one. Kind of fantasy, dystopian, steampunkish, and action adventure
Overall Opinion: Recommended
Source: eBook from Netgalley

Leave a Reply

