Book Review: Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers

mortalheartBook Review: Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers

The third book in His Fair Assassin series weaves Annith’s story and the other two stories together. Annith grows tired of waiting her turn to serve St. Mortain, so when she realizes that the Abbess never intends for her to leave on a mission, she takes matters into her own hands.

This has been an interesting trilogy for me because I have loved each book equally. Each book is based loosely on history, but full of action and great characters. I love the flaws and rough edges of these characters. While I did relate to some more than others, I think that each book has its own merits.

Quotes I liked:

Annith on tears: “Tears sting at my eyes and try to crowd their way up my throat.”

Annith on love: “It is all too easy to conjure up all the obstacles that face us, and it is tempting, oh so tempting, to tie his love to me for all eternity so that I am the final one he will ever love. But it is too close to what the abbess tried to do to me: to bind me so close to her that I could not love or live on my own, could not make my own choices. “No,” I say firmly. “I do not want a love if it must bind it to me in such a manner, for does not the very binding of it make it less like love?”

Recommended Grade: High School-Adult
Genre: Action Adventure/Historical
Overall Opinion: Recommended
Source: Book (arc)

Leave a Reply

