Book Review: The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

forestBook Review: The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

Since I read all three of these books in a super short period of time, I’m going to blog them just a few days apart for those of you who hate waiting.

Mary has always lived her life surrounded by the unconsecrated that live in the Forest of Hands and Teeth. In a matter of a few short months, Mary loses both of her parents to the forest and the her brother who resents her for not stopping her mother from getting bitten. Forced to live with the sisters, Mary’s life only gets more complicated from there!

I know I’m very late getting to this series (published in 2009) but WOW. I have had this sitting on my shelf since the year it came out. Not until I found it on audio did I actually get started. Then I had to finish in book form because the audio was taking too long. Lots of wonderful characters that make it impossible to put down. It’s funny because I like reading zombie stuff but I can’t watch it on TV because it is too gross. Guess my mind isn’t that graphic. Take for example the quote (not quote) below.

Quote

So not really a quote, but there is a scene that gave me the chills. You will know it when you get there. Thumping sounds in a room but Mary can’t tell where it is coming from because there doesn’t seem to be any unconsecrated in the room. Cue dramatic music right?

Recommended Grade: 8-12
Genre: Zombie/Dystopian
Overall Opinion: Recommended
Source: Audio/Book

Leave a Reply

