Book Review: Dead Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

deadtossedBook Review: Dead Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

Gabry has only ever known life in the lighthouse by the ocean. Sure there are mudo (unconsecrated), but only when the tide washes them onto the shore. Until the night they cross over the barrier and a catastrophe takes the one person she thinks she can actually love…or does it?

Sooo, this hasn’t happened to me, I don’t think ever, but I actually love the second book in this series more than the other two. I think you will notice that when you see all of the quotes. The wordsmithing going on in this novel was exceptional and I absolutely loved the plot. We still got to know what happened to Mary, but it wasn’t all about her. This is so much more than a zombie book. It is a book about life and how you find your way.

Quotes-and seriously don’t laugh…I left off some.

“And I realize that maybe this is the one thing that will always pull the people of my world together. The more we lose, the more we become the survivors.”

“I hold my breath, waiting for her touch to bring me comfort. And then I realize that that’s been my problem all along. Not only wanting comfort and security and safety, but looking to others to find it when I need to find it inside myself.”

“I realize that life is risks. It’s acknowledging the past but looking forward. It’s taking a chance that we will make mistakes but believing that we all deserve to be forgiven.”

“If I knew the sound of someone breaking this would be it.”

AND my favorite mother/daughter conversation I’ve read in a while…in fact I had to text it to my mom because this is so us (not the fear of leaving your mom surrounded by zombies part):

    “What am I supposed to do?” I ask, my voice small and scared.

     She places her hands on my cheeks. I think of all the moments in my life that we’ve stood alone together, just the two of us against the world. Of how much of our life that we’ve shared. And yet I feel as though this divide has opened between us, a gulf showing me just how much of her I didn’t know.

                I always thought of her as my mother and not as a woman who used to be a girl like me.

       “You stay safe,” she finally says. “You love. You survive. You laugh and cry and struggle and sometimes you fail and sometimes you succeed. You push.” She smiles, her voice watery. “And you always remember that your mother loves you.”

Recommended Grade: 8-12
Genre: Zombie/Dystopian
Overall Opinion: Highly Recommended
Source: eBook

Leave a Reply

