Book Review: Unbreakable by Kami Garcia

unbreakableBook Review: Unbreakable by Kami Garcia

When Kennedy’s mother dies unexpectedly, she is thrust into a word that she never knew existed. This new world full of demons has her second guessing herself around every corner. Her four new companions bring a chance for friendship, purpose, and possibly even love. If she can just stay out of her own way.

I listened to this on enhanced audio. That was kind of weird because there would just be random music thrown in at times. Not much enhancement for me, but the voices were well done. This book is kind of scary; so won’t be for everyone, but I really enjoyed it (read the second on in the same week). Sometimes I felt that Kennedy’s self narration got a bit much (okay…we get that you are conflicted/scared/etc. already), but the plot was quick and kept me interested.

Quotes…disclaimer, listened to this on audio, so punctuation might be incorrect.

“I looked so happy, like nothing could wipe that smile off my face. It reminded me of a darker day when I learned that a smile can break as easily as a heart.”

“Being given away didn’t seem that different from being left behind. I understood how it felt to be broken when everyone around you was whole.”

“You can’t choose the person who really sees you. The person who knows what you’re feeling without you saying a word. The person who can make you laugh, and cry, and everything in between, just by looking at you. The one, you can imagine being lucky enough to have, or unlucky enough to lose. I was staring at him; the boy who was all those things and more.”

Recommended Grades: 7 and up
Genre: Fantasy
Overall Opinion:  Recommended
Source: Audiobook

Leave a Reply

