Book Promotion: Don’t Judge a Book by its Cover

Don't JudgeTwo years ago we did the whole Blind Date with a Book Contest. Last year we missed out because I was in Russia, and this year, I’ll be going to TCEA for the first time, so I wouldn’t be there right before Valentine’s Day. Instead I decided to do a spin on that called Don’t Judge a Book by its Cover. It is basically the same thing because I wrapped up all the books and then put them out with only 2-3 word hints at the book. Students check out a book and then do a short book review if they wanted to be entered into a drawing for a gift card.

So far I’ve wrapped enough books to fill a book truck front and back (so four long) twice. I still don’t even think I’ll have enough books to finish out this week because I told those that were interested they could have a second book this week. I might regret that decision, but the kids are excited, and even a few teachers are checking out books.

The funniest part was that I wouldn’t let them check them out for a whole day while I started putting the display out. They were literally begging to check them out when the official contest began. Love seeing such excitement about books.

PS…some really do have horrible covers, and we are rating the cover as a part of the book review they submit, so actually I guess we are judging a book after all!

Leave a Reply

