Book Review: The Queen of Bright and Shiny Things by Ann Aguirre

queenSage loves to leave sticky notes on peoples notes to encourage them when they are down. It started with one, but now it has become almost a compulsion as a part of her desire to be as perfect as possible. She fears what will happen if she is not. Her best friend Ryan isn’t making things easy, and then when she meets Shane, she starts to fall hard.

Flew through this book! Loved that truths in the story naturally unfolded at times that seemed right and that the characters were just complex enough to love and still be relatable. Perfect for fans of romance or tough stuff…it has plenty of both.

Quotes-hang on there are a few. Aguirre is a master wordsmith

“…but high school is full of people who think that what they wear matters more than who they are.”

“His head jerks up: he was totally into the book and didn’t even hear me at all, which makes me like him instantly. I know all about the transportive power of fiction.”

“This is me, melting like butter on the sidewalk. Somehow I keep my knees from turning to total jelly.”

“Just…for the first time, I want so bad for someone to like me back. Don’t get me wrong. I’ve had crushes before, guys I’d never meet or ones I knew would never look at me like that. Sometimes it’s safer to pin your dreams on somebody who’s never going to see you. While it’s sad, it’s also safe. Because there is no chance he’ll ever break your heart for real.”

“I’m the queen of bright and shiny things, eternally looking for positive and seeking a silver lining in the dark.”

“Yesterday was perfect; yesterday was before. This is why before is a magical word.”

Recommended Grades: 8 and up (there is sex, but it isn’t graphic)
Genre: Dystopian
Overall Opinion:  Recommended
Source: ebook provided by Netgalley

Leave a Reply

