Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

redqueenBook Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

In a world where the color of your blood defines you, Mare is in the low class of reds that struggle just to survive. With her brothers serving in the war, she does what she can to help the family survive, even if that means stealing. When a stranger’s help calls her to the castle, Mare’s life changes dramatically as she learns that maybe those blood boundaries weren’t as simple as everyone once thought.

Confession. You probably know if you read my blog, but sometimes I just pick up a book and don’t know anything about it other than the cover (find blurbs sometimes give away too much)….so I thought this was a Victorian Queenish kind of book…I’d put off reading it because I wasn’t in that mood. Then one day I hear kids discussing and knew I had to read it right away. Oops. This book was very interesting. The think I liked best is how visual the story telling was; you can easily see this being made into a movie!

Quotes

I don’t like getting involved in other people’s business. I don’t have time for I; and yet, here I am listening to myself say four dooming words, “leave everything to me.”

Mavin lets me think. His eyes thoughtful as he watches the emotion rise in my face. He always lets me think. Sometimes his silence is better than anyone else’s words.

Recommended Grades: 9 and up
Genre: Fantasy
Overall Opinion:  Highly Recommended
Source: Audio Book

One thought on “Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

