Book Review: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

everylastwordBook Review: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone
Samantha is struggling with Obsessional OCD, but you wouldn’t know it by looking at her. In therapy she’s working on dealing with ways to handle her frequently cruel friends and the constant self guessing that plagues her thoughts. When Samantha makes new friends, she is pulled into a group where words and poetry have the power to heal.
It’s interesting, because this is the second book I’ve read recently on OCD, but this one had a totally different focus. The focus on this was more the internal struggle not the OCD that manifests in visible ways. I LOVED this book. Probably biased because I’m a poet and struggle with some of these same OCD tendencies myself, but I loved the candor and relationships in this book. End had me mesmerized.
Quote that took my breath away…I’ve been there…I’ve written this poem too.
When I’m done, we have a poem that doesn’t say “I’m sorry” in so many words, but it talks about regret and second chances, a fear of not belonging that runs so deep it changes you into someone you don’t want to be. It’s about seeing what you’ve become and wanting-craving-to become someone different. Someone better. It’s me, asking him to let me in. Asking all of them to give me a chance to show them that deep down, I’m not who they think I am. Or, maybe I’m exactly who they think I am, but I no longer want to be.
Recommended Grades: 8 or 9 and up (does have a little language and some sex)
Genre: Realistic Fiction
Overall Opinion: Highly Recommended
Source: eBook from Netgalley

One thought on “Book Review: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

Leave a Reply

