Book Review: Shards & Ashes by Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong

Shards and AshesBook Review: Shards & Ashes by Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong

This collection of beautifully written dystopian short stories includes a variety of my favorite authors. Some of the stories are added snips from their other worlds, while some are completely different creative works. Each story is unique and wonderful, and that doesn’t always happen in a short story collection. My favorite was “Hearken” by Veronica Roth, but I had to struggle to choose a favorite.

On a personal note, I love how many new short story collections have been coming out lately. I know in my library we have a shortage of quality short stories. This is one I will be purchasing for my library.

Quote from “Necklace of Raindrops” on living life:

Let me give you this one gift. Let me tell you what I have learned.

Don’t be afraid to live.

Your life will be long, but it won’t be life.

Recommended Grades: 8 and up
Genre: Dystopian Short Stories
Overall Opinion:  Above Average
Source: Book

Leave a Reply

