Book Review: Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

dumplinBook Review: Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

Willowdean accepts herself as she is, even though she knows that her mom would love her to lose weight. Things get a little complicated when her best friend starts hanging out with someone new, and the heartthrob Bo starts to express interest in Willowdean at work. Willowdean’s path eventually leads her to enroll in a local beauty pageant.

I loved this book. There is real complexity of characters and honesty in the voice. There are days when Willowdean loves her body and days when she thinks she might be ready for change. This isn’t a girl eats less and solves everything kind of book, and I think there is a little magic in that. It is more a people (Willowdean and those whose paths she crosses) look a little deeper at their lives and decide what is important enough to keep and what is important enough to change kind of book. Maybe my pear size figure is a little biased. He he. I’ve always struggled with my weight. When I was thin, I was never thin enough, and now that I’m heavier sometimes I forget that until I look in the mirror (or shop). It is strange how body image is always an ever evolving thing. Do I know I need to lose weight? Absolutely! But does it change the person I am? Not really.

Quote on friendship:

“Good friendships are durable, they’re meant to survive the gaps and the growing pains.”

Quote on finding the right person:

“There’s some kind of peace that comes with knowing that for every person who is waiting to be found there is someone out there searching.”

Recommended Grades: 9-12 (some language and sex discussion)
Genre: Realistic Fiction
Overall Opinion:   Recommend
Source: Audiobook

Leave a Reply

