Book Review: Defiance by CJ Redwine

defianceBook Review: Defiance by CJ Redwine

Rachel’s quiet life in Baalboden is interrupted when her father goes missing. Having trained in secret, she knows she can find him, but it isn’t that simple. First she must convince the cruel leader to allow her to go; even if the cost is steep.

I was surprised about how many mixed reviews this book got. Yes, I guess it could be classified as dystopian, but I think it is more action adventure. Unlike other reviewers, I don’t think this story line just repeats other plots. This is the start of what I’m sure will be a great series. I listened to this on audio and really enjoyed it. The main reason that I’m torn on an above average/average review is that I think there is still a lot of the story to be told. I’m excited to read book two and see how the story evolves.

Quotes

“Instead, I cradle her to me and feel the missing pieces of my slide firmly back into place.”

“Lucky for me, they’re too shortsighted to understand a man’s true weapon isn’t something that slides into a scabbard.”

Recommended Grades: 8-12
Genre: Action Adventure
Overall Opinion:   Average/Above Average
Source: audiobook

Leave a Reply

