2nd Annual STEAM Celebration Reflection

2nd Annual STEAM Celebration Reflection

This is WAAAY overdue, but I know several of you were curious about how STEAM went this year.  The answer? Wonderful. It was a rainy day, so we had some no shows, but I think everyone had a great day. A special thank you to all the community members, teachers, and librarians who came to help or just explore!

Background

STEAM stands for science, technology, engineering, art, and math. Starting last year, we have a yearly three hour event that focuses on fun activities using those skills. This is a great way to get community and family involvement.  This year we decided to invite our four feeder elementary schools as well. Those kiddos made me miss my elementary teaching days. SO PRECIOUS. It was great to see our students step up as leaders.

Prep Work

  1. Plan the activities for each rooms
  2. Get LOTS of volunteers and community members
  3. Collect the supplies
  4. Promote the event
  5. Pass out flyers (I ran copies and sent to our feeder schools)
  6. Arrange transportation if needed
  7. Set up rooms
  8. Have fun!

Here is the map of the activities we used this year (inside and outside):

Basically, we do activities in almost every downstairs room.  I try to keep costs as low as possible by getting donations when I can. I won’t lie, this part takes a while. In the summer, I usually look on Pinterest , magazines, or books for ideas. Then I start deciding what I can reasonably do in a short time period.  Once I know what I can get donated, I make decisions about what needs modified. This year I had an amazing activity with balloons I wanted to do, but we had a student with a severe latex allergy, so I had to scrap that and come up with another plan. I set the date in the fall and get commitments early.

Promotion

Here are the videos we showed in preparation:

Video 1 (shown week of 3/21): What is STEAM?

https://animoto.com/play/1lUf66S5TgO06pEKL0pj3g 

Video 2 (shown week of 3/28): About the Sh@ck Kn@ck Makerspace

https://animoto.com/play/wi888CxyVhHHgIuKRHasCA

Video 3 (shown week of 4/4):  STEAM Celebration Events

https://animoto.com/play/H6UL0Vih1R0sV0sr8dLvzg

Video 4 (shown week of 4/11): FAQs for STEAM Celebration

https://animoto.com/play/yP1XXPpqKy9EKQmIdaPI6Q

This is the flyer we used:

STEAM Poster Shack

Set Up

I have a Google Doc that I keep directions, supply list, and links. Then I stage everything in boxes or bags with the room number on the bag so they can pass out quickly. Make sure to give directions to teachers early so they can practice before that day if needed. I set up as much as I can the night before. This is the craziness that is my office a few weeks before:

What I Learned

It was MUCH easier this year because I had so many volunteers. Over 30 of my staff members donated their time to help. That allowed us to have some floaters who could fill in as needed. Unfortunately, I also learned that duct tape does NOT peel off the floor easily. Caption this photo “When ideas go wrong…” even my principal was cleaning stuff off of the floor.

Photo Apr 30, 12 18 24 PM

We got such high praise from the other schools that my principal is actually going to budget some money for this next year (I’m not complaining, he gave me money this year too, but next year it will be OFFICIAL).

Pics and Videos

I posted a ton of pics and video on Twitter/Instagram @shacklibrary. The district Flickr page has some links here as well:

7D016724

Questions or Comments?

Add a comment if you have any questions or comments! I’ll share anything I can that will help.

 

 

Leave a Reply

